Greenville County is rich in historic resources that represent the culture and economy of the past and the upcoming opportunities of the future. Greenville County Rec manages 6 parks as historic sites that contain bridges, dams, or other significant historic features along with passive amenities like picnic areas, trails, and interpretive signage. The Division of Greenways, Natural, & Historic Resources works closely with the Historic Preservation Commission on development and preservation projects for the enjoyment of County residents and visitors.
Poinsett Bridge is located at 580 Callahan Mountain Road, Travelers Rest, SC 29690.
Poinsett Bridge is part of the 120 acre Poinsett Bridge Heritage Preserve owned by the State of South Carolina. Greenville County Rec manages the preserve along with SCDNR. Constructed in 1820, it is believed to be the oldest surviving bridge in the state. Named after Joel Poinsett, a prominent early resident of Greenville and a U.S. ambassador to Mexico, the bridge was part of the State Road that connected Charleston and Columbia with the North Carolina mountain communities into Tennessee. It is a 14 foot Gothic arch stone structure and stretches 130 feet over Little Gap Creek. Historians believe that is was designed by Robert Mills, architect of the Washington Monument.
Campbell’s Covered Bridge is located at 171 Campbell’s Covered Bridge Road, Landrum, SC 29356
Constructed in 1909, Campbell’s Covered Bridge is the only remaining covered bridge in the State of South Carolina. The 38 foot long, 12 foot wide pine structure that spans Beaverdam Creek was built by Charles Irwin Willis. Locals believe that the bridge was named for Lafayette Campbell, who at the time of the bridge’s construction owned 194 acres in the immediate area. The bridge and surrounding acreage is presently owned by Greenville County Rec and has been transformed into a passive park where visitors can picnic, explore the foundations of the old grist mill and home site, and learn about the area through interpretive signage.
Pelham Mill Park is located at 2770 E Phillips Rd, Greer, SC 29650
The Greenville County Historic Preservation Commission donated this 13 acre site bordering the Enoree River to Greenville County Rec in 1988. It was home to the first textile mill in Greenville County outside of the city limits of Greenville. It’s location, near the Hwy 14/I-85 interchange near Greenville Spartanburg Airport, position it to be a potential gateway to Greenville County.
The scenic and historic elements parallel that of downtown’s Falls Park. Today, in partnership with ReWa (Renewable Water Resources), seven acres have been added to the park. Its focal point is a masonry dam and overlook where visitors can view architectural remains of the mill and the cascading shoals of the Enoree. The master plan envisions a passive park with picnic sites, historical interpretation, dog park, and a walking bridge spanning the river that provides access to scenic trails along the Enoree.
The former Pelham Mill Post Office, built circa 1870, was moved to the park when Hwy. 14 was widened. Greenville Rec, with support from ReWa and Greenville County, is stabilizing the historic structure that has fallen into disrepair over the past decade. Pelham Mill is recognized by the Greenville County Historic Preservation Commission as a historic site in the County.
Cedar Falls Park is located at 201 Cedar Falls Road, Fountain Inn, SC 29644
At this site in southern Greenville County the Reedy River widens to over 200 feet cascading over rocks and boulders to create one of the most geologically significant vistas on the river. The site dates back to the early 1800 when it housed an industry and an electric generating plant. The site will be developed into a passive park with trails, picnic groves, historic interpretative signs and a playground.
Slater Hall is located at 5 Whitney Street, Slater, SC 29661
In 1927 H.N. Slater bought 466 acres in northern Greenville County with intent to build a textile mill and a new community village centered on Slater Hall. The hall served as the nucleus of the village providing educational, social, and cultural resources for the mill workers. In 1945 Slater Manufacturing Col. sold the Hall to Slater Community Association for one dollar. In 1984 the Association gifted the Hall to the Recreation District. The District operated the building as a community center for several years but did not have the resources to rehabilitate the structure to make it safe and accessible. When the hall was closed an activities building was constructed on the site to house the senior citizen program. In 2005 the Slater Hall Citizens Committee was formed. The committee in cooperation with Greenville County Rec re-opened Slater Hall in 2010.
Herdklotz Park is located at 126 Beverly Rd., Greenville, SC 29609
This beautiful park that offers panoramic views of the downtown Greenville skyline and nearby Paris Mt. has a rich history. The site was once the home to the Hopewell Sanitarium, a nationally recognized hospital for patients with tuberculosis. Remains from the root cellar were saved during park construction and historic signage offers visitors interesting insight into an era that spanned the early 1900?s. The hospital eventually burned down and the County decided to construct a park on the site.
Park Development – Cedar Falls Park
Parking and Streetscape Improvements – Poinsett Bridge
Office Stabilization & Weatherization – Pelham Mill Park