about2opp

Staff Directory

Gene Smith, Executive Director

Gene, a Clemson graduate with a Bachelors of Science degree in Recreation and Park Administration, brings 28 years of recreation management to the department. His professional career began in 1974 when he served as Parks and Recreation Director for the City of Mauldin. Prior to his current position he served as the Greenville County Recreation District’s Director of Maintenance and Development.  A Greenville native and avid outdoorsman, Gene is married with two children and a grand daughter.

 

Administrative Office Front Desk – 864-288-6470

Department Administrators

Contact the following individuals by email or call (864) 676-2180. .

Director: Gene Smith – Ext. 130 gene@gcrd.org .

Deputy Director/CFO: Chanell Moore – Ext. 111 cmoore@gcrd.org .

Parks Director: Don Shuman – Ext. 110 don@gcrd.org .

Recreation Director: Nancy Callahan – Ext. 125 nancy@gcrd.org .

Facilities Director: Ray Dunham – Ext. 131 ray@gcrd.org .

Community Relations Director: Mike Teachey – Ext. 133 miket@gcrd.org .

Planning Director: Paul Ellis – Ext. 137 pellis@gcrd.org .

Greenways, Natural & Historic Resources Director: Ty Houck – Ext. 141 ty@gcrd.org .

Human Resources Director: Stacey Bechtold – Ext. 159 sbechtold@gcrd.org

Staff Contacts

Contact the following individuals by email or call (864) 322-7529. .

Pavilion: Ted Lambrecht – Ext. 204 ted@gcrd.org .

Ice Skating: Jimmy Crockett – Ext. 203 jcrockett@gcrd.org .

Ice Hockey: George Fowler – Ext. 208 gfowler@gcrd.org  .

Tennis: Tim Driscoll – Ext. 207 timd@gcrd.org

Birthday parties: Dianne Cundiff – Ext. 214 dianne@gcrd.org

 

Contact the following individuals by email or call (864) 676-2180.

Accounting: Angel Pendergrass – Ext. 157 apendergrass@gcrd.org .

Procurement Specialist: Chrystel Jones – Ext. 113 chrystel@gcrd.org .

Programs: Joe Lanahan - Ext. 142 joe@gcrd.org .

Spearhead/Special Olympics: Randy Murr – Ext.127 randy@gcrd.org .

Athletics Manager: Steve Cooke – Ext. 123 steve@gcrd.org

Assistant Athletics Manager: Rich Dixon – Ext. 134 richd@gcrd.org

Athletic Coordinator: Wilbur McNeil – Ext. 163 wmcneil@gcrd.org

Sports Tourism: Jeff Poole – Ext. 122 jeffp@gcrd.org .

Community Centers: Lawanda Curry – Ext. 121 lcurry@gcrd.org .

Riverbend Park: Jill Brookey – ext. 161 jillb@gcrd.org

Volunteering:  Joni Dilworth – ext. 126  joni@gcrd.org

 

Contact the following individuals by email or call the number listed..

7th Inning Splash: Merv Faassen DeHeer – 299-1842 - merv@gcrd.org

Otter Creek: Dean Batson - 834-4108 dbatson@gcrd.org .

Discovery Island: Beth Scheimann – 963-4345 beth@gcrd.org.

Westside Aquatic Center: Merv Faassen DeHeer – 295-0032 merv@gcrd.org .

Team Greenville Swimming: Scott Bonine – 220-0209 coachscott@gcrd.org .

Pleasant Ridge Camp & Retreat Center: Marty Daigle – 660-1065 marty@gcrd.org .

_________________________________________________________

Greenville County Parks, Recreation, & Tourism Department 

4806 Old Spartanburg Road Taylors, SC 29687

ph: (864) 288-6470  fax: (864) 288-6499